Jumpers

First of all, I need to apologise for not blogging for a couple of months, things have been so busy here!  I’ve just not had a moment to sit down and write anything.  But you can keep up with what I’m up to on Instagram,  where I post every day and I also post regularly on FB and Twitter, so there are lots of ways to keep in touch!  I’ll put links at the end of this post.

Having said all that, the best way to show you all the photos of the finished jumpers is to blog about it, so here goes!

As you may have seen from previous posts, a lovely lady called Lydia got in touch last year and asked me to make her some jumpers (sweaters in American speak!) for her and her husband, in the colours of the family tartan.  I was delighted to oblige!

11tartan
The Lindsay family tartan

You can see my previous posts about it here:

https://thesequinnedsheep.wordpress.com/2015/06/09/jumper-commission/

https://thesequinnedsheep.wordpress.com/2015/07/03/311/

https://thesequinnedsheep.wordpress.com/2015/08/14/disaster/

I never did tell you about the solution to the problem I mentioned in “Disaster” where I told you how I’d run out of wool with one sleeve of the burgundy jumper to go!  I had a great comment on that post, left by Linda, who suggested doing one row of the original burgundy and one row of the new burgundy (as they were different dye lots) and that doing this would mean the eye wouldn’t be able to discern any slight variations in colour between the two.  That is exactly what I did and as you can tell from the photos, it is impossible to tell which parts were made with the new wool added in and which were made with just the original wool.

This commission took me longer than I expected, as I had a lot going on last year with health problems and so on, thankfully Lydia, my customer, was so patient with me, and I was able to get the jumpers to her in time for her wedding anniversary on 1 January.  What a lovely thoughtful gift!  She was also very sweet and sent me some great photos of them, as I ran out of time to take pics before the courier picked them up and took them on their journey across the Atlantic!

What do you think?  Lydia has told me that she really likes the jumpers, although a few adjustments are required, and I hope that they will bring happy memories for years to come whenever they are worn!

The doggies didn’t miss out, they got flowers to tie to their collars in matching colours!

Do let me know what you think!

My next blog post will be about a creative idea from my friend Chrissie, she has come up with a fab way to use children’s t shirts and I think you will love it!

 

Here are the promised links so you can keep in touch with me between blog posts! Do let me know what you think of my photos and posts, and if you want me to make anything for you, I’m always happy to do so!

https://www.instagram.com/thesequinnedsheep/

https://www.facebook.com/TheSequinnedSheep/

https://twitter.com/sequinnedsheep

Leave a Reply

