A Beautiful Day Off

It’s been a stressful week here, I did so well working really hard on the jumper sleeves, and then after three days really hard work I discovered that I was using the wrong size needles.  Totally gutting!  I was meant to change size after the cuff of the sleeve and I totally forgot!  So I had to undo all the work I’d done.  I have to confess I nearly cried and went to bed in a very bad mood!

1s

Anyway, I was feeling exhausted and was thinking about having a day off to recover some energy and get out of my bad mood, and then when I woke up my friend (ETA: I do have more than one, although I realise I’ve made it look like I only have one here) texted me and said: “would you like to come out with me this afternoon?”  Would I!!  Yes please!  I’d not left the house all week so was dying to get out and the sun was shining too after a week of really heavy rain.

We live in the Surrey Hills, which is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (http://www.surreyhills.org/), so we decided to go and explore a bit!  We both love the A25 so drove down it to Abinger Hammer and then turned right and and explored all round Peaslake and Holmbury St. Mary, and then ended up in Shere, as my friend wanted to go to The Shere Shop, which is full of lovely things, I could have spent about a million pounds in there!  There are so many pretty things and great little gifts in there.

We had a lovely time looking round the village, it is so pretty!  And then we went for a cake and a drink in a nice little cafe that I’ve forgotten the name of, but the cakes are made by the lady who runs it and were delicious!  I had a lovely chocolate and orange cake, and my friend had something full of chocolate and cherries and things.

Hope you enjoy looking at the pictures I look!

Got to have nice nails for a day out!  I got some new nail varnish in the post this week so had to try it out!
Got to have nice nails for a day out! I got some new nail varnish in the post this week so had to try it out!

11351803_174720896193307_854357071_n

We parked by this church in Shere, very intrigued by the steps.  Why are they there?  Where do they go?  Is there a secret room in the church that you can't get to from inside?
We parked by this church in Shere, very intrigued by the steps. Why are they there? Where do they go? Is there a secret room in the church that you can’t get to from inside?
Pretty house in Shere
Pretty house in Shere
What amazing flowers!
What amazing flowers!
This road in Shere really reminds me of Mermaid Street in Rye, such lovely buildings!
This road in Shere really reminds me of Mermaid Street in Rye, such lovely buildings!

So all in all, we had a fab time!  My day off did me so much good and although I was very tired when I got home, I had a bit of a rest and then did masses of knitting all evening.  So I should be caught up with the sleeve by the end of today and back to where I was before I had to undo it all on Thursday.  Hurrah!  I’ll keep you posted on how it all goes, hoping to have both sleeves done by the end of next week or early the week after, that would be fab if I can do that!

Have a good week everyone!  Enjoy your weekend!  Hope you have sunshine in your life!

Leave a Reply

